VaShawn Mitchell, Kirk Franklin top 2012 Stellar Awards

VaShawn Mitchell
VaShawn Mitchell

VaShawn Mitchell was the most awarded artist topping six categories at the 27th Annual Stellar Awards, with Kirk Franklin close behind with four awards. Celebrating gospel music at its best, the Stellar Awards were presented Jan. 14 at Nashville’s Grand Ole Opry.

Mitchell was named Artist of the Year, Male Vocalist of the Year and Contemporary Male Vocalist of the Year, and took home three awards for Triumphant (EMI Gospel/EMI CMG Distribution): CD of the Year, Contemporary CD of the Year and Praise and Worship CD of the Year; as well as Music Video of the Year—Short Form for “Nobody Greater” and Urban/Inspirational Single/Performance of the Year for “Nobody Greater.”

Franklin was named Producer of the Year for his own Hello Fear (Verity Gospel) and Contemporary CD of the Year for the same album, and won Song of the Year for “I Smile” and CD of the Year for I Smile (Verity Gospel).

Other honorees included Albertina Walker, Female Vocalist of the Year; Mary Mary, Group/Duo of the Year and Contemporary Group/Duo of the Year; Y’Anna Crawley, New Artist of the Year; Smokie Norful, Traditional Male Vocalist of the Year; Beverly Crawford, Traditional Female Vocalist of the Year; and Rance Allen Group, Traditional Group/Duo of the Year.

Special honorees were also named: Vy Higginsen, Thomas A. Dorsey Most Notable Achievement Award; Dorothy Norwood, Ambassador Dr. Bobby Jones Legend Award; and John P. Kee, James Cleveland Lifetime Achievement Award.

To contact us or to submit an article, click here.

Get Charisma's best content delivered right to your inbox! Never miss a big news story again. Click here to subscribe to the Charisma News newsletter.

Charisma News - Informing believers with news from a Spirit-filled perspective